WordPress 4.9.6 included a feature to delete a user’s personal data upon verified request. Deleted data is permanently removed from the database. Erasure requests cannot be reversed after they have been confirmed.
Erase Personal Data tool uses email validation to send a user’s request to an administrator.
1. Select Tools -> Erase Personal Data from Administration Screens.
2. Specify Username or email address and click Send Request.
If Confirmation request initiated successfully, the request will be shown in below table and Status will be Pending.
User will receive the following mail titled ‘[<site_name>] Confirm Action: Erase Personal Data’.
Howdy, A request has been made to perform the following action on your account: Erase Personal Data To confirm this, please click on the following link: https://<site_address>/wp-login.php?action=confirmaction&request_id=120&confirm_key=4Ouy5xJDptm4aLwcJIAA You can safely ignore and delete this email if you do not want to take this action. This email has been sent to email@example.com. Regards, All at <site_name> http://<site_address>/
3. If user click link in the mail, below dialog box is shown.
At the same time, the Status of Request will be changed to Confirmed,
and Next Steps shows Erase Personal Data button.
4. Click Erase Personal Data.
Status will be changed to Completed,
and Next Steps displays Remove request button.
Notice: There are no confirmation prompt. Clicking the button means erasing the data.
6. Click Remove request. The request will be removed.
Notice: There are no ‘Trash’ status such as Posts’.